Course Reviews

Course review - Golf course by the ocean

If you would like to submit a course review then I would be more than happy to take a look. Please email your review to geoffrey.baker@cleekandjigger.com. If you happen to have any photographs then please attach them to the email.

Course Reviews:

St Enodoc Church Course

St Enodoc Golf Club – Church Course

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 10, 2023Jun 28, 20235 min read
How Many Golf Courses Are In The World

How Many Golf Courses Are In The World

ByByGeoffrey BakerAug 24, 2022Feb 20, 20237 min read
Newquay Golf Club

Newquay Golf Club

ByByGeoffrey BakerJul 13, 2022May 11, 20235 min read
Telford Golf Hotel

Telford Golf Hotel

ByByGeoffrey BakerJul 8, 2022May 11, 20236 min read
Forest of Arden Aylesford course

Forest of Arden Aylesford Course

ByByGeoffrey BakerJul 8, 2022May 11, 20234 min read
Holsworthy Golf Club

Holsworthy Golf Club

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 24, 2022Nov 21, 20225 min read
Axe Cliff Golf Club

Axe Cliff Golf Club

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 24, 2022Nov 21, 20225 min read
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 22, 2022Jul 30, 20236 min read
St Mellion - Nicklaus Course

St Mellion – The Nicklaus Course

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 16, 2022Nov 21, 20225 min read
The Point at polzeath

The Point at Polzeath

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 13, 2022Nov 21, 20226 min read
Dainton Park Golf Club

Dainton Park Golf Club Played

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 7, 2022Jul 30, 20236 min read
Tavistock Golf Club

Tavistock Golf Club

ByByGeoffrey BakerJun 1, 2022Nov 21, 20226 min read
Mortehoe & Woolacombe Golf Club Review

Mortehoe & Woolacombe Golf Club Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerMay 21, 2022Nov 21, 20226 min read
Trethorne Golf Course Review

Trethorne Golf Club Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerMay 20, 2022Nov 21, 20225 min read
Golf Courses in Cornwall

Golf Courses in Cornwall

ByByGeoffrey BakerMay 20, 2022Jun 22, 20234 min read
Dartmouth Golf Hotel Review

Dartmouth Golf Hotel Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerMay 8, 2022Nov 21, 20226 min read
Oakwood Course Review

Oakwood Golf Course Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerMay 6, 2022Nov 21, 20226 min read
golf courses in Somerset

Golf Courses in Somerset

ByByGeoffrey BakerApr 9, 2022Apr 4, 20234 min read
Back Creek Golf Club Review

Back Creek Golf Club Review

ByByGreg KennedyMar 23, 2022Jun 19, 20236 min read
The third tee at Tiverton Golf club

Tiverton Golf Club Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerSep 9, 2021Nov 21, 20227 min read
Great Torrington 6th Tee

Great Torrington Golf Club Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerAug 4, 2021Nov 21, 20228 min read
16th Tee

Cotswold Hills Golf Club Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerJul 21, 2021May 19, 20237 min read
Penn Golf Club Review

Penn Golf Club Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerApr 14, 2021May 17, 20239 min read
The 16th tee on the West course

Saunton West Course Review

ByByGeoffrey BakerFeb 22, 2021May 17, 20239 min read

I’ve played close to 500 courses over more than 30 years. A good percentage of those were played in competitions. In theory, that means I should have been seeing the course at its ‘best’.

You need to take any course review with a pinch of salt, even mine! It is just one person’s opinion on one day. All courses go through ups and downs in terms of condition. However, I would like to think even if the course isn’t in great condition on the day or I’m playing it in terrible weather that I can form an opinion based on the design of the course.

Like a lot of people, I prefer to live a champagne lifestyle on beer money!

While I have paid what some would class as ridiculous sums of money to play golf, I still love to find a bargain.

Even better if I can play a good quality course for a rock bottom price.

I’m not so much of a snob that I would not play a course at least once irrespective of its reputation. However, there are a number of courses I have played down the years that I am in no rush to return to.

Further Reading

UK Golf Guide: this can be a great resource for researching trips around the UK although I do wonder sometimes about some of the reviews. Beauty as they say is in the eye of the beholder!

GolfPass: if you are looking for course reviews from around the world then GolfPass might do the trick.

The Fried Egg: some great articles on golf course architecture.

Alistair McKenzie Society: one of the iconic designers, his most famous design being Augusta National in conjunction with Bobby Jones.

Golf Architecture Resources: a selection of resources on golf architecture and famous architects.

Golf World Top 100 UK Rankings: ironically having started the top 100 rankings some years ago Golf World magazine is no more. The branding has been retained purely for the rankings which have now been moved over to its sister publication Today’s Golfer.